Research Administration Certificate Programs

Harvard Chan School RA Boot Camp

The Research Administration Boot Camp offered in the Fall.  Our next Boot Camp session is scheduled to begin October 8, 2019.  Boot Camp is designed for aspiring, new and seasoned research administrators. The program is a four week curriculum that includes two 90 minute classes per week with pre-assignments designed to enhance the classroom discussions.  Classes are case study based to develop critical thinking skills, identify key questions to ask and know where to find available resources.  The curriculum is designed around the award lifecycle and the policies and procedures that are most relevant to each of the phases. 

Topic Scheduled
Introduction Tuesday, October 8 , 2019, 2-3:30pm
Proposal Development Thursday, October 10, 2019, 10-11:30am
Internal Review Tuesday, October 15, 2019, 2-3:30pm
Pre-Award Thursday, October 17, 2019, 10-11:30am
Notice of Award Tuesday, October 22, 2019, 2-3:30pm
Portfolio Management Thursday, October 24, 2019, 10-11:30am
Prior Approvals Tuesday, October 29, 2019, 2-3:30pm
Closeout Thursday, October 31, 2019, 10-11:30am
To sign up for the fall session contact Eileen Nielsen.

Harvard Chan School Special Ops

Special Ops is a new Harvard Chan School certificate program. The curriculum is designed for experienced research administrators interested in developing their critical thinking and analytical skills in award management.   The program is five weeks with one 2 ½ hour class per week.  Participants will be given pre-assignments applicable to their respective portfolios.

Topic Scheduled (Tentative)
Portfolio Review Thursday, November 7, 2019, 10 am-12pm
PI Meeting and Closeout Thursday, November 14, 2019, 10 am-12pm
Managing Personnel Thursday, November 21, 2019, 10 am-12pm
Subrecipient Monitoring Thursday, December 5, 2019, 10 am-12pm
Foreign Award Management Thursday, December 12, 2019, 10 am-12pm

For more information contact Eileen Nielsen.